Awards and Scholarships

The Awards Committee oversees the process of collecting nominations and selecting recipients for a variety of WATA awards. The WATA Hall of Fame, Distinguished Service Award, Outstanding Educator Award, Honorary Membership and other special designated awards are awarded under the guidance of the Awards Committee. The WATA seeks to recognize those individuals who have distinguished themselves in service to the athletic training profession. Members are encouraged to review the criteria of each award and, when appropriate, nominate deserving colleagues for recognition.


We encourage all of our web visitors to browse the WATA Hall of Fame information and to review the list of previous winners in all of our award categories. Our organization stands on the shoulders of those who have come before us to advance the profession of athletic training; we are pleased to honor their hard work.

WATA Hall of Fame

Please feel free to contact the Awards and Scholarships Committee Coordinator: Anna Linstedt if you have any questions.

Displayed in this slideshow are the current 2019 Awards and Scholarship winners. See the complete list below of this year's winners.  

 2019 WATA Awards and Scholarship Recipients
Quiz Bowl- Marquette University: Rachael Ewald, Karalyn Knight, Hannah Howell


 Poster Presentation Winners: 

1st Place - Abigail Leisemann

2nd Place Tie - Mostafa El-leboudi and Ziyad Elewa

WATA Founding Fathers Scholarship: Leah Smith, UW Madison 
Mueller Professional Scholarship: Karen Mendez-Avila, Carroll University and Lauren Moberg, UW Madison
Jeff Oliphant Post-Graduate Scholarship: Neal Ori, University of South Carolina-Columbia
Outstanding Educator: Beth Kinslow, DSc, ATC
Honorary Membership: Jeremy Metzler, MD
Hall of Fame: Joseph Greene, MS, ATC and Joseph La Mere, MS, LAT, PES

Check out WATA Members who have won GLATA and NATA Awards.